IWSG: Details, Details, Details

IWSG badge

The Insecure Writer’s Support Group is a collective that offers angsty writers (like me) a home. You can check them out here.

The optional question of the month is about times when we’ve felt like calling it quits–but I have yet to experience one of those. During my darkest days, I often feel like maybe I can’t do it, but I’ve never wanted to not do it. I can’t fathom the idea of giving up because I honestly don’t think I’m capable of doing anything else. This is what I’m meant to spend my life doing.

Instead, here’s my current, most pressing insecurity: that I’m not capable of handling all of the non-writing aspects of being a writer.

According to those who’ve succeeded at it, being an author now is like owning a small business. It’s not just about drafting, or even revision; making it to the point where the book feels ready is only the beginning. If you’re going the traditional publishing route, there’s putting together query letters and research, trying to find an agent or a publisher.

Then, if you’re looking to indie publish, the list seems endless! Book covers using only legally permissible images, formatting your books for different e-readers, navigating the different sales sites and their pricing options, building a network of other authors to increase your chances of exposure.

And none of this even takes into consideration keeping up a social media presence, which has become essential these days. It all makes a nap sound like the best possible choice. 🙂

My executive dysfunction is pretty bad (my ADHD is untreated, because medication could worsen another disorder I have), so I look at the above list of everything I would need to do to have even a shot at success, and am definitely full of insecurity.

So I’m trying to keep in mind two things:

1) Not everyone has my challenges, but all writers have their own. I can’t afford to pay others for help yet, so any e-books I release will have to feature covers and formatting I do myself. But I’m lucky that that’s even an option, that I feel comfortable trying to take that on. Before this digital age, I couldn’t have self-published without material resources.

2) While my challenges are unique to me, every writer that’s succeeded has figured out how to push past their own. It’s going to be an uphill battle to figure out the “executive management” of my writing–and take more effort and time than maybe it does for authors–but it’s entirely up to me whether I want to put in that work or just keep stalling on my possible future.

No excerpt today, in honor of IWSG–but tomorrow kicks off WriteMania! See you then.

IWSG: Details, Details, Details

8 thoughts on “IWSG: Details, Details, Details

  1. You ar 100% correct. Today it takes so much more than a good ida and the ability to creatively put pen to paper to be a successful writer. Good luck with your work. We each have our own challenges to overcome, but it’s possible and hopefully, worth it.

  2. Lee says:

    You’ve definitely hit a nerve with your observation that “I often feel like maybe I can’t do it, but I’ve never wanted to not do it.” So true. As to whether you can “do” the rest of it, with marketing, etc., just appraoch it the way you did writing your book – one step at at time. Instead of looking at it as “an uphill battle” maybe lay down the armor and look at it as “a new, interesting challenge.” Best to you!

  3. As a kid I thought you just wrote a story and miraculously it ended up in print. Then, I never imagined all the work. I had to laugh at the nap being the best possible option, there are days that I can so relate to that.

    1. I believed the same thing as a kid. I was taught to love the shiny end product so much that I was in college before anyone introduced to me to Anne Lamott’s explanation that it’s actually *normal* to write a bad first draft.

Leave a Reply

