Day 2: Shapes in the clouds

“Whatever you’re meant to do, do it now. The conditions are always impossible. ” –Doris Lessing

In an ideal world, writing would just be fun. I’m not sure why it isn’t always, why sometimes I’d do anything to avoid it even while I also want to write, but I wish that it could be.

I’m struggling a lot with this story. I don’t know exactly what I want it to be, or what should be happening, so not much is. And even though I’m sure I felt that way with my first novel and that experience got much better over time, it doesn’t feel the same. I’m worried that maybe I’m doing something wrong…but I don’t know how to fix it.

So today is all about journeying on, despite the obstacles. Thanks for reading.

Day 2: Shapes in the clouds

4 thoughts on “Day 2: Shapes in the clouds

  1. I know exactly how you feel Without having publish the first book in this series I feel like writing the second book is akin to swimming in limbo. Anything could change and then I would be wasting time writing parts of a book that shouldn’t and couldn’t exist anyway. Having said that, this is the very definition of a draft and I totally agree that we should just get on with it regardless. I’m sure we’ll both find our groove again when the writing, however little of it, becomes a routine again.

    1. Toni Travis says:

      I have to believe that that is true. It has to get better because we are writers and this is what we do. (I’m hoping that getting back into the routine will lead to *wanting* to write larger amounts, too!)

Leave a Reply

