Day 15: Week 2 in review

This week saw a significant drop in my writing volume, but not in a way that bothers me. I wrote just under 2,000 words per day, and I did so while facing some health issues that sapped my energy and ability to remain alert and productive.

My core lesson from Week 2: always, always write the heck out of your good days, because bad days are guaranteed to arrive. The second week slump is a very real problem, which I learned throughout my own week and from the dropping participation of others in my cabin.

Overall, I’m still working ahead of the timetable. I have one third of my word count left and half the month’s time left to finish it in, so I’m doing just fine. But compared to my first week, I slouched my way through Week 2, and could be even further along now if that had not happened.

Making sure to schedule more time for word sprints has helped me pick my volume back up as I begin Week 3, and being in a better place health-wise is also a plus as the second half of my noveling project continues. I will be planning just a little more through this final third of my story, in an attempt to cover everything that’s left before the end I have vaguely in mind.

While I know that I am capable of writing much more than I did this week, I am still very proud of having written almost 40,000 words in two weeks, and I have every hope that I will get back into the swing of things for a strong finish. 🙂

Today’s word count: 2,063

Total word count: 41,001

Today’s excerpt: He wanted to stop her, wished that he could find the exact right words to untangle the whole mess and just be with her, but he wasn’t good with words that way. And he wasn’t sure she’d really hear him if he tried.

 

Day 15: Week 2 in review

4 thoughts on “Day 15: Week 2 in review

  1. You should be very proud of the amount you’ve already written. We’re only just half way and you’re already at 40,000 words. I know how it feels though to have a target and then not meet it because of things outside of your control. It’s especially bad when it’s an illness. Hope you feel better and lets sprint for our lives to get those word counts up!

    1. Toni Travis says:

      I will take the time to indulge in pride over my word count once I complete my story. That’s really the big prize for me, finishing my first story before I’m 30 when I’ve been writing for more than 20 years without much to show for it. 🙂 We really do need to sprint for our lives!

Leave a Reply

