Day 14: Through the valley of the shadow of overthinking

Last night, for the first time since I began this project, I thought about what needed to happen next when I was trying to fall asleep. I suppose it’s fitting, as I hit the two-week mark today, to actually begin planning, however incrementally. But it was a big leap for me, because I am sincerely superstitious and don’t want to stop writing.

I only came up with the idea for one scene that felt like it would need to happen before the story was over. That will be the first scene I write today, and I will try to write it before I begin word sprinting later, because having an idea makes it less necessary to push myself first thing during my day. I’ll need those sprints later, when I’m once again typing without ideas.

However, the very fact that I began thinking through the rest of my plot leads me to believe that with this story I may have conquered the dangers of overthinking. I’ve had to deliberately refuse to think through my story at all in order to write it, and while that has been working, it also made me feel like the story I was turning out was worse than it had to be.

If I have truly reached the point where I can plan a scene and then write it, without losing the ability to sit and work through my story, then I would consider that a major writing breakthrough. Only time will tell.

Today is my second day of having major graphic commitments to attend to before I write. Yesterday, that meant that I did the bulk of my writing extremely late in the day because that was when I was finally done with my other responsibilities. I am hopeful that I will be able to get more done throughout the day today, so that writing into the next morning won’t be a requirement.

In other news, I am positively obsessed with “Wings” by Birdy. I have Pandora and full access back to my mp3 player, but I have instead listened to the same song 42 times since yesterday. Including during word sprints, when I usually require a high-energy mix of tunes. Random fact. 🙂

Today’s word count: 1,500

Total word count: 38,938

Today’s excerpt: When Audrey pulled away, she took a delicate part of Mel’s heart with her. This was her first love, she knew now. And she didn’t think it could be saved.

“What are you going to do?” she asked knowingly as they both stood.

Audrey looked away, out her bedroom window, as she answered. “I’m going to do what has to be done.”

She paused on her way out of Mel’s room to turn back and look at her one last time. “Aren’t you?”

Day 14: Through the valley of the shadow of overthinking

11 thoughts on “Day 14: Through the valley of the shadow of overthinking

  1. Yay! I no longer feel like a freak. Officially. For listening to one song on repeat–forever. 🙂 😉
    Also, where’s the excerpt? I live for the excerpt!!!

    1. Toni Travis says:

      <3<3 I am up to 90 repeats now, so you should officially feel less freakish. Not to imply that that there's anything wrong with freakishness, of course.:)

      *big, huge grin* You live for the excerpt. I find so much hope in that, it is exactly what I needed to hear. In all honesty, supplying excerpts means I get to bolster my self-esteem by never sharing most of my story, which I worry about sucking–so it's not a fair random sample. But still, your interest is incredibly heartening. ❤

      I usually add the excerpt after I've finished writing for the day. Today I got a little distracted by a nap, so that hasn't happened. yet. 🙂

  2. No, there’s nothing wrong with it–waving your freak flag is a thing, afterall. Unfortunately, it has negative connotations (that are not even mostly true), so…I don’t really like feeling like an odd, weird, freak over something that is essential to who I am (i.e. repeating the same song over and over).

    Yes, yes I do! I am interested. Where is it?? 🙂 It’s the next day already! Gimme, gimme! 😉

    Ah. Okay. *nods* Naps are of the good. Naps are god-like, to me, I suppose, in their necessity–you know, if you were religious. Also, in their sacred-ness (sacredity?? sacrality??)

    🙂

    1. Toni Travis says:

      *nods* Okay. Well, you can feel better then, because I shall be listening to the same song for the next few days at least, because I like it better than all the other music, right now. 🙂

      Yes, it is the next day, though I usually give myself a little leeway, word count-wise, as to what makes up a “day.” The post has been updated now to reflect that. ❤

      Ah, true. You could worship at the whatever of the god of naps, I suppose. 😉 I like "sacredity."

      1. *nods* Great!

        *nods* That makes sense. Can’t say that I do that–cuz I can’t. I’m linear. 😦

        YES! Great excerpt! Really sad though, poor Audrey and Mel!

        Lol. Worship at the whatever of the god of naps. LOL. LOL.
        Me too. The sacredity of naps.
        🙂

      2. Toni Travis says:

        🙂 Yep, but in this case linear is probably better. It’s a teensy bit dishonest to carry my word count over until it is where I want it to be…if things are that flexible, why bother having a daily word count goal? But I admit, I do so. ❤

        Yes, they make me sad. 😦 Though they need fleshing out in the actual story to be more sympathetic. I'm glad you liked it.

        I ❤ you so much. Glad to make you laugh.

      3. Well, yeah–tiny bit dishonest, yeah? But, you know….wait….are you honest on the camp site? Or…? In any case, it’s your blog, you can make yourself seem as productive as you like, in my opinion.

        Yeah, they seem sad. I can’t wait to read about their relationship!

        I ❤ you so much too. And, well, good–cuz you do. You're funny. And cute. And other, many other, things.

      4. Toni Travis says:

        LOL. I am honest on the camp site. There I update with my actual current word count. I just wait to update my blog until I’m done with writing for the day, whatever counts as my day before I go to sleep. I would never lie on the Camp site! It has sacredity!

        Aww. Thanks. ❤ ❤

      5. LOL. Goodness. I didn’t mean to imply you’re a liar or anything. And yeah, the Camp site does have sacredity. 😉 🙂

        ❤ ❤

      6. Toni Travis says:

        I know. I just felt it was important to set the record straight, for my many, many readers. Lol. 🙂 I do not flout the sacredity! I promise.

Leave a Reply

