Day 13: Getting back on the literary horse

After a day off from writing entirely, I managed to write 3,000 words yesterday, which means that I avoided turning my one day off into a terrible streak of not writing again. Restarting after I stop has always been one of my biggest problems. Starting is the hardest part for me in any kind of project or activity, and restarting is exactly like starting, while also being repetitive. So I’m more likely to give up than jump back into something I began before.

That makes this project a successful counter to my usual patterns yet again, as I’m heading towards 40,000 words and I’ve gotten back into it rather than let a small setback derail me. I must admit, though, that taking that break didn’t do me or my story any favors. There are some parts from yesterday’s writing that I like, but there are also parts that are very bad, much worse than I felt like I had been writing this week. They felt bad as I was writing them, that’s what a difference it was for me.

So even though I am clearly able to leave my novel for a day without giving it up forever, it’s probably a bad idea to take entire days off. Even writing a little, just to get past feeling exhausted and out of ideas, is preferable to spending my days doing very little. I could be writing, you see. I need to do more of that.

Today holds graphic work for me, as does tomorrow, so they may not be big word count days. Even so, I don’t plan to let them pass unwritten, as every little bit helps.

How do you get back into writing after you’ve taken breaks from it?

Today’s word count: 2,107

Total word count: 37,438

Today’s excerpt: She had actually never used blood magick before, because it was usually tied into spells that respectful practitioners would not use—dangerous or immoral spells. In this case, she didn’t care.

 

Day 13: Getting back on the literary horse

3 thoughts on “Day 13: Getting back on the literary horse

  1. I’m not sure. I tend to start new stories if I’ve taken a day or two off from older ones. But….if I really care about an older story, I’ll eventually pick it up again. I don’t know how I do that.

    1. Toni Travis says:

      🙂 That’s true, you tend to follow whichever world holds your interest at the time. But you do sometimes go back, which I admire. ❤

Leave a Reply

