Day 8: Week 1 in review

It has been one week since I dived into writing a novel, having no idea if it was even possible. It definitely didn’t feel possible. But during Week 1, I wrote over 25,000 words and managed to find a few snippets that I liked even before the eventual revision process. My first seven days of writing, I racked up half of the word count required for the entire month of NaNoWrimo in November.

The most interesting development for me, that I haven’t already discussed here during Week 1, is the fact that my relationship to writing has changed in such a short time. I have a hard time writing without sprinting company, but I’m writing every day even with that crutch/limitation. I found it hard to get started at the beginning of the month, but now I think of writing differently.

When I’ve finished all my other responsibilities, I keep writing throughout the day not because I’m aiming for a particular word count or because I’m racing to see how quickly I can finish the story. Instead, I keep writing because it is the first thing that comes to mind when I need something to do. I did a lot of late-night sprints last week when I couldn’t sleep or couldn’t stop writing, and it taught me that I can write even when I’m exhausted. So now, even when it’s late and I don’t feel like doing anything productive, I think “I could write,” and then I do.

So far, the most helpful change I’ve undergone this month is the fact that writing has become my default activity. It no longer feels like an event, something to stress out about and wait until the exact right moment for. Now it’s something I do when I have some spare time, because I know that I can. Even if I don’t have any ideas, I know that I can put fingers to keys and things will happen anyway.

And just think, last year I couldn’t write at all if I had to do it with a keyboard and screen! That is my Week 1 progress. 🙂

 

Today’s word count: 2,001

Total word count: 27,309

Today’s excerpt: “That’s what you took away from what I just said? The whole rambling monologue, and all you got was that I’m seeing someone? I may not be able to help this time, Liam, because Mel and I can’t stand to be in the same room together. But by all means, let’s fixate on my dating life!”

Day 8: Week 1 in review

5 thoughts on “Day 8: Week 1 in review

  1. I’m still mastering the art of thinking of writing as anything other than an event in itself. I’ve bought all kinds of fancy notebooks and pens thinking they’ll aid me in wanting to write but its still a big fancy thing when it happens. When camp is over I’m going to try and get up at the same time every day to write so that it eventually becomes a routine like brushing my teeth.

    1. Toni Travis says:

      That’s definitely what I’m aiming for as well. Right now I’m trying to treat it like a replacement hobby. If I have time to play FB, I could be writing. If I have time to watch TV, etc. Of course, on really low-energy days, that doesn’t work as well..so the routine idea would be much better. I’m terrible at deliberately imposed routines.

  2. It’s terrible how often I lie on the couch watching TV thinking “Instead of watching this rerun of such and such show that I’ve seen 10 times I should be writing.” But I guess nothing rewarding comes from no effort! It’ll be difficult to include in a daily routine the same way as exercise but I really want it to happen!

    1. Toni Travis says:

      I feel like there must be a ton of us, writers who should write but instead do other things. We will beat the tendency to procrastinate until we are writers in action and word!

  3. Good. Writing is supposed to be a journey, a learning process and writing well (even if you don’t think you are) is supposed to change you. 🙂
    Good on you! And congrats!

Leave a Reply

