Day 6: Writing routines

Routines are very important to me, as a person with an Autism Spectrum disorder. My activities fall into routines even when I’m not trying to make that happen, and writing is a perfect example of that.

I start my day by dealing with all other responsibilities that I’ve got planned for that day. This includes checking my personal Facebook and email, responding to comments on sites like Livejournal and AO3, opening HabitRPG and catching up on the message board comments that I missed in my Camp NaNo cabin.

The above list is important to my patterns; I don’t skip any of these. I take care of emails and any posts that I need to add to those various sites, and then I hang out at my cabin until a word sprint presents itself.

I do not really write without doing so in word sprints; I just can’t focus and find words without it. This may be a problem once I no longer have sprinting buddies, but I hope to make progress throughout the month until I can just write on my own.

My writing usually starts later in the day, in the afternoon or evening. In theory, I could get more writing done by starting earlier, but I feel much better writing after my other tasks are done. Then I have the option of writing for as long as I want without having to interrupt myself.

After I’ve finished my writing for the day, I reread all of that day’s addition to my novel. I copy and paste any sentences that I really like into a separate document, and save and backup my work. The selected excerpts get re-read until I am able to choose one to spotlight here, and then I update my word counts and call my blog done for the day.

I imagine that my writing routine will evolve over time, but that is how I write, right now. Thanks, as always, for reading!

Today’s word count: 2,194

Total word count: 22,255

Today’s excerpt: She couldn’t tell anyone that she was a girl who was supposed to be dead. She couldn’t tell them that she had fallen through a mirror. Who was she, Alice in Wonderland?

Day 6: Writing routines

8 thoughts on “Day 6: Writing routines

  1. I’m usually very structured in my routines but for some reason when It comes to my writing I just turn into one of those people who can’t get it together. I feel like I only write because there is nothing else more interesting to do. Thankfully the writing has become the interesting thing now that we have our cabin chat.

    1. Toni Travis says:

      Hi! I know you! Lol. It took me a minute to match your blog to your username, but now I’ve caught on. 🙂

      My problem is that there are too *many* things I find more interesting. I am such an avid consumer that I don’t create as much as I like. Happily, our cabin is helping me stay on track to change that!

      1. This is the reason why I don’t start a new series because even though I want to dislike it there will be one character I like and that’s all I need to be hooked. I think I was born to be the target audience for mainstream media. It’s such a time suck!

      2. Toni Travis says:

        That’s true for me as well. I feel compelled to finish a series once I’ve started it, and then the marathons are endless. At least when I can’t stop reading a book, there’s a built-in end that happens after a much shorter period of time!

  2. TuiSnider says:

    Sounds like you’ve got a good handle on your own personal writing style. Like you, I have to make sure certain nagging tasks are out of the way before I can truly dive in. 🙂

    p.s. Thanks for dropping by my blog the other day!

  3. It sounds like it might have funny parts too–which is awesome.
    I was already aware of your routines, so I can’t comment on that but….congrats as you move through writing!

Leave a Reply

