Day 1: It’s all about the word sprints

I waited until the afternoon to start writing. Honestly, I’m someone who’ll never feel “ready” to start at any point, because there’s always more planning that could be done. So I spent some time waking up, doing other things, and then I stumbled across something awesome.

I chose July to be my noveling month because I had the impulse too late in June and school will start back up again in August. I did not remember at all that July happens to be a month for NaNoWriMo’s camp session. This means that I can have the fun of noveling in November in July, while I happened to be planning to write anyway! 🙂

Therefore, part of my day was spent setting up at their website, finding a group of other participants to join, and then chatting with them while we all tried to get motivated. However, that’s not the point of today’s story. The point of today’s story is that NaNoWriMo offers a tactic called a “word sprint” to help people write more, and I tried it for the first time earlier. Then I tried it twice more after that, because it affected my writing in an amazing way.

My goals for this month, by the way, are to have written 60,000 words by the end, giving me a daily goal of 2,000 words with one bonus July day I’m not counting.

Today’s word count: 4,131

Today’s excerpt: She would accept all the help that she could get in this bizarre world where little girls could be left without families and people could do what they wished with them.

Day 1: It’s all about the word sprints

2 thoughts on “Day 1: It’s all about the word sprints

  1. tyess says:

    Oh, nice coincidence. I have a similar story about last camp (April). But that was my first NaNoWriMo experience.

Leave a Reply

