How to Write a Public Novel

I am still mulling over ways of using this blog. Writing my entire novel on WordPress seems unwise, especially if I manage to complete it and would like to seek publication of it after editing. Additionally, my perfectionism seems like a terrible fit with the live feedback I may receive: constructive criticism can be very helpful, but I’m not sure receiving it on an unfinished work will help me as I work towards finishing it.

The first option that I’m considering is to post a daily sample of my progress here. That would demonstrate my efforts without requiring that I lay bare my entire work for any readers I may have. 

I am also considering posting my work in progress to Archive of Our Own, where readers could follow along as I add chapters. That site may be better suited for the format of a novel than this blog.

On the other hand, there’s something appealing about blogging a novel as I go. I’m not sure which option I’ll choose, but I’d love to head your thoughts, any readers I may have out there. 🙂

How to Write a Public Novel

2 thoughts on “How to Write a Public Novel

  1. My vote is for “post[ing] a daily sample of my progress here.” *nods* That gets my vote.

    Additionally, I do not vote for AO3 (Archive of Our Own), because…..sometimes publishing houses don’t/won’t publish original fic if it’s been previously published in its entirely on the web. 🙂
    Just f.y.i.

    1. Toni Travis says:

      Thank you for your vote, so much. 🙂

      That was partly what I was wondering about. Good tip, much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

